Youngstown Press Club to Induct Five Journalists into Hall of Fame

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — Five notable Mahoning Valley journalists will be inducted into the Youngstown Press Club Hall of Fame in September.

The inductees are Mona Alexander, recently retired news director at WFMJ; William D. Lewis, photographer for the Tribune Chronicle and The Vindicator; Nick Rich, news videographer for WKBN; Len Rome, news anchor at WYTV; and the late William Fleckenstein, co-founder and general manager of WHOT Radio.

Additionally, the press club will present several awards. Lisa Abraham, a longtime area journalist, will receive the First Amendment Award. Madison Tromler, news anchor and reporter at WFMJ, will be honored with the Excellence in Media Award. JoAnn Kolarik, WFMJ account executive, will receive the Medal of Merit.

The Youngstown Press Club Hall of Fame honors individuals with long and distinguished careers in media. The First Amendment Award is given to those who have vigorously defended the freedoms protected by the First Amendment. The Excellence in Media Award recognizes exemplary work in mass communication fields, while the Medal of Merit acknowledges outstanding contributions to the Youngstown Press Club.

The inductions and award presentations will take place during the Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner at 5:30 p.m. on Sept. 25 at Stambaugh Auditorium, 1000 Fifth Ave.

Tickets are required. Click HERE to purchase.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.