Akron Children’s Addresses Substance Abuse with New Program

Akron Children’s Announces Summer Research Scholars

AKRON, Ohio – Twelve college students, including one from the Mahoning Valley, have been selected to participate in Akron Children’s Summer Pediatric Research Scholars program this summer.

Avery Probst of Youngstown, a  pre-medical student studying chemistry and biochemistry at Kent State University, will join 11 other sophomores and juniors interested in health care careers in conducting clinical research projects while being mentored by physicians, surgeons, nurses, therapists and other experienced hospital researchers. 

The mentors design research projects focusing on enhancing patient safety or quality of care; evaluating effectiveness of new treatments, technologies or methods; or improving the health care experience for patients and families.

“The SPRS program offers highly motivated undergraduate students hands-on experience conducting a clinical research study under the tutelage of Akron Children’s most experienced investigators,” said Dr. Michael Forbes, chief academic officer at Akron Children’s. “At the same time, these students are helping hospital researchers answer significant questions to improve patient care.”

Additionally, the students attend weekly educational classes on biomedical research and shadow Akron Children’s clinical teams during the 10-week program. In August, students present their research study results to members of Akron Children’s medical staff, researchers, academic partners, family members and peers. Previous projects have received awards at national conferences, led to published research and resulted in new protocols for treatment.

The other Akron Children’s Summer Pediatric Research Scholars are: Jonathan Evanick (Kent State University); Kiara Grow (Heidelberg University); Grace Henderson (University of Akron); Manith Humchad (University of Akron); Ria Khetan (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill); Maria Lonneman (Kent State University); Nadia Pokrajac (The Ohio State University); Bella Procaccio (University of Cincinnati); Natalie Schmitt (Taylor University); Hunter Swartz (Malone College); Razeen Thammachack (The Ohio State University).

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.