ASECU Creates Second Memorial Scholarship

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio — Associated School Employees Credit Union has created the Ed Lugibihl Memorial Scholarship, the second such scholarship sponsored by ASECU. This scholarship is in addition to the G. Howard Shreve Memorial Scholarship, each of which will award a high school senior $500. 

Howard Shreve and Ed Lugibihl were both involved in the creation of Associated School Employees Credit Union and were instrumental in making ASECU what it is today. Shreve was an educator in the Austintown school system and started the Austintown School Employees Credit Union in 1959.  Lugibihl was involved in the Boardman School System and started the Boardman School Employees Credit Union.  The credit unions eventually merged to create Associated School Employees Credit Union.  Both founders believed in the power of education and what it can mean for a young person. 

“We are pleased to award this scholarship in memory of Howard Shreve and Ed Lugibihl”, said Michael J. Kurish, president and CEO.  “Their vision, dedication and advocacy on behalf of the credit union has impacted so many lives. Our hope is to maintain their legacy by fulfilling the dream of making higher education accessible for all students.” 

Applicants must be an ASECU member in good standing and be a graduating senior in high school.  Applications can be found on our website at and will be accepted through May 1st of this year.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.