15 Women Nominated for 2019 Athena Award

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — The Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber has announced the 15 nominees for the 27th annual Athena Award dinner.

The Athena Award honors women who “strive toward the highest levels of professional accomplishment,” according to a chamber release. This includes those who have excelled in their chosen field, have devoted time and energy to their community in a meaningful way and opened doors for others to follow their path.

The 2019 Athena Award Dinner is at 5:30 p.m. May 16 at Mr. Anthony’s in Boardman.

Nominees for 2019 include:

  • Jennifer Brainard, co-owner of Champion Skate
  • Jaclyn Carpenter, director of booking with JAC Management Group/JAC Live
  • Nikki Carter, chief strategy officer at Mercy Health’s Great Lakes Group
  • Sherri Clay, registered senior client associate at Merrill Lynch
  • Charyn Faenza, director of application solutions at FNB Corp.
  • Jennifer Johnson, area manager for Aqua Ohio Inc.
  • Joyce Kale-Pesta, director of the Mahoning County Board of Elections
  • M. Brigid Kennedy, president of Ursuline Ministries
  • Jenna Kifer, human resource manager for Homes for Kids, and treasurer at WRC-SHRM Western Reserve Chapter SHRM
  • Dr. Tammy King, acting dean of the Bitonte College of Health and Human Services at Youngstown State University
  • Katherine C. Komara, director of operations of the Behavioral Health Institute at Mercy Health-Youngstown
  • Dr. Sarah Michaliszyn, associate professor and chair of the Department of Kinesiology and Sports Science at YSU
  • Dr. Alicia Prieto Langarica, associate professor at YSU
  • Jennifer Roller, president of the Raymond John Wean Foundation
  • Sarah Wilschek, community development manager of the Jewish Community Center

This year’s keynote speaker is Elizabeth McIntyre, publisher and editor of Crain’s Cleveland Business. 

The event includes a VIP reception for the sponsors, nominees and nominators, followed by public reception, dinner, keynote speaker, presentation of the Athena Scholarship, recognition of all nominees and announcement of this year’s recipient.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.