Cafaro Foundation Gives $67K in Scholarships

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — A record number of young scholars from the Mahoning Valley will benefit this year from scholarships awarded by the Cafaro Foundation. This year, 28 students have earned scholarship money totaling $67,000.

That amount is the largest the Foundation has awarded for scholarships in a single year and $10,000 more than last year, officials said. Trustees of the Cafaro Foundation selected the scholarship recipients based primarily on the students’ academic merit with consideration of financial need and recommendations of teachers and guidance counselors.

The individual scholarships range in value from $5,000 to $2,000.

The winner of William M. and Alyce Cafaro Memorial Scholarship is Melissa Baker.

Winners of the John A. Cafaro Scholarships are Rayann Atway, Kathryn Conlan, Jacob Duda, Robert Dulay, Trisha Ginnis, Colt Jamieson, Tyler Leonard, Kara Levantis, Abby Lipkovich, Bryan Partika, Marisha Partika, Claire Puncekar, Aislinn Rubinic, Macey Sarisky, Katherine Schrader, Kaitlin Soucy, Francesca Strollo, Lexie Tsudis, Luke Tsudis, Ryan Wolanzyk and Michael Yourstowsky.
Winners of the Donald P. Pipino Memorial Scholarships are Joshua Schlueter, Payton Schnabl, Gary Bonner Jr., Richard Bardol, Lyric Harden and Kaylyn Hoschar.

The Cafaro Foundation is a charitable entity established by the Cafaro family in memory of William M. Cafaro, founder of the Youngstown-based Cafaro Co., one of America’s largest privately held real estate development firms that owns and manages more than 30 million square feet of property in 10 states.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.