Candidates for 13th Congressional District Debate Tonight

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The Youngstown Press Club and Stambaugh Auditorium will host a debate tonight for the three candidates running to represent Ohio’s 13th congressional district in the U.S. House of Representatives. 

The event will be broadcast live from 7 to 8 p.m. on WFMJ-TV from Stambaugh Auditorium and streamed on WFMJ’s website. Due to COVID-19 restrictions on public gatherings, the debate is not open to the general public. Media access will be limited.

The incumbent, U.S. Rep. Tim Ryan, was elected to Congress in 2002. 

Challenging Ryan are former state Rep. Christina Hagan of Marlboro Township, who won a crowded primary for the Republican nomination for the seat, and Dr. Michael Fricke of Kent, running as the Libertarian candidate. 

Adam Earnheardt, communications professor atYoungstown State University and former chairman of the department, will moderate the event. Questioning the candidates will be George Nelson, political editor of The Business Journal; Derek Steyer, WFMJ co-anchor; David Skolnick, political reporter for the Tribune Chronicle/The Vindicator; and Abigail Cloutier, managing editor of the YSU student newspaper, The Jambar, and executive producer of Jambar TV. 

A 501(c)(3) nonprofit affiliated with YSU, the Youngstown Press Club was re-established in 2018 to promote journalism and other communication-related professions in the Mahoning Valley. More information about the organization can be found at

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.