Cortland Bancorp Adds 2 Directors to Its Board

CORTLAND, Ohio – The board of directors of Cortland Bancorp, holding company of Cortland Saving and Banking Co., has expanded its membership to 12 from 11 and named two new members, J. Martin Erbaugh and Thomas P. Perciak.

The president and CEO, James M. Gasior, made the announcement today. The board took the actions Dec. 22, the company reported in the Form 8-K it filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Erbaugh and Perciak take their seats Friday.

Leaving the board last spring was George Gessner, who stepped down because he reached the mandatory retirement age. His seat remained vacant.

Erbaugh, age 67, is president of JM Erbaugh Co., a private investment firm that focuses on real estate development and service-oriented startups. He joins the class of Cortland directors whose terms expire in 2018.

Perciak, age 68, is the mayor of Strongsville and a former banker. He completes Gessner’s term that expires at the 2016 annual meeting.

Between 1978 and 1995, Erbaugh was the CEO of Lawnmark, which he founded and saw grow to 18 offices in six states and serve more than 100,000 customers. Before that he was director of Legal Affairs at Kent State University and general manager of Davey Tree Expert Co.

He helped to found Morgan Bank, N.A., in 1990 in Hudson and sat on its board until 2007, serving as chairman the last five years.

Perciak was executive vice president of Fifth Third Bank’s northeastern Ohio region from 1999 until 2004 after the Cincinnati-based Fifth Third Bancorp acquired Emerald Financial Corp., holding company of The Strongsville Savings Bank. Perciak helped to found Strongsville in 1975 and helped to guide its growth to 16 banking offices from two in Medina, Cuyahoga and Lorain counties.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.