Debonné’s 2016 Riesling Reserve Best in Ohio

REYNOLDSBURG, Ohio — The 2016 Riesling Reserve produced at Debonné Vineyards in Lake County has been named Ohio’s Best White Wine by the director of the Ohio Department of Agriculture, David T. Daniels. 

The Director’s Choice award, presented at the statehouse, was determined by a panel of judges. 

Three other wines were honored as Director’s Choice recipients.

Best Red Wines: The 2015 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon produced at the
Meranda-Nixon Winery in Brown County; and the 2014 Vin de Rouge produced at the
Henke Winery in Hamilton County.

Best Desert Wine: The 2016 Cabernet Sauvignon Ice Wine produced at
Kosicek Vineyards in Ashtabula County.

All of the award recipients are eligible for the Ohio Quality Wine designation. This award was created in 2007 by the Ohio Grape Industries Committee and is assigned to wines made from at least 905 Ohio-grown grapes. These wines must also achieve at least 15 of 20 points on a sensory evaluation and pass a chemical analysis before receiving the quality seal.

In a separate ceremony, several Ohio wines were honored at the 2018 Ohio Wine Competition held last week at the Lodge at Geneva in Ashtabula County. The competition was conducted by Kent State University Ashtabula.

The winners are:

  • Overall Best of Show – Maize Valley Riesling;
  • Best of Show Sparkling Wine – Meier’s Reiém Spumante;
  • Best of Show White Wine – 2017 Ferrante Signature Series Pinot Grigio;
  • Best of Show Red Wine – 2015 Fulton Grove Winery Syrah;
  • Best of Show Blush Wine – Doughty Glen Laughing Blush;
  • Best of Show Fruit Wine – Vinoklet Sweet Jackie;
  • Best of Show Dessert Wine – 2016 Ferrante Vidal Blanc Ice Wine.

The Ohio Grape Industries Committee is housed at the Ohio Department of Agriculture and provides wineries a means to market their top-quality wines against well-known California and European wines.

To learn more about the program or for a complete list of Ohio Quality Wines, go to 

Pictured at top: Ohio Department of Agriculture Director David T. Daniels presents the Director’s Choice Award for the Best White Wine to Michael Harris and Tony Debevc of Debonné Vineyards.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.