GOP Sweeps State Offices, Rulli Upsets Boccieri

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — Mike DeWine will be the next governor of Ohio and Jon Husted the next lieutenant governor. With nearly 100% of the state’s precincts reporting results, the Republican Party ticket has garnered 50.7% of the vote , defeating the Democratic Party’s gubernatorial candidate, Richard Cordray, and his running mate, Betty Sutton, who got 46.4% of the vote.

Republicans also won all statewide offices. Results are from the Ohio Secretary of State site.

Dave Yost defeated Steve Dettelback for attorney general, with a margin of 53% to 47%. In the race for auditor of state, Keith Faber defeated Democrat Zack Space, 50% to 46%.  Republican Frank LaRose will succeed Husted as secretary of state, defeating Kathleen Clyde, 50.9% to 46.7%. And Republican Robert Sprague has been elected as state treasurer, beating Democrat Rob Richardson, 46% to 54%.

State Issue 1, which would have reduced penalties for crimes of obtaining, possessing and using illegal drugs, was soundly defeated, 64% to 36%.

In an upset, businessman Michael A. Rulli, a Republican, defeated Democrat John A. Boccieri by a margin of 53% to 47% to win election to the Ohio Senate in the 33rd district.

Boccieri represented the 59th district in the Ohio House of Representatives but was limited from running for another term in that legislative body. Democratic state Sen. Joe Schiavoni similarly was restricted from running for a third term in the 33rd district, making it an open seat.

And in the 59th House district that Boccieri now holds, a Republican will take his place in Columbus as Don Manning defeated Poland Township Trustee Eric C. Ungaro, 50.4% to 49.6%.

The 33rd Ohio Senate district and the 59th state House seat have been held by Democrats for decades.

State Reps. Glenn Holmes, D-63, Michael J. O’Brien, D-64, and Michele Lepore-Hagan, D-58, all were reelected to the Ohio General Assembly.

U.S. Rep. Tim Ryan, D-13 Ohio, cruised to victory over Republican Chris DePizzo with 68% of the vote. And Republican U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson, who represents part of Mahoning County and all of Columbiana County, also cruised to victory with 69% of the vote over Democrat Shawna Roberts.

In Pennsylvania’s newly drawn 16th congressional district, Republican U.S. Rep. Mike Kelly won re-election over Democrat Ron DiNicola by a margin of 51.2% to 47.6%.

Republican Mary DeGenaro, a resident of Poland, lost her appointed seat on the Ohio Supreme Court. She will be replaced by Melody J. Stewart, who garnered 52% of the vote.

CLICK for statewide election results.

CLICK for Mahoning County results

CLICK for Trumbull County results



Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.