Johnson, Kelly Vote Against Arizona, Pa. Electors

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson, whose sprawling district includes part of Mahoning County, all of Columbiana County and stretches to Marietta, followed through on his promise to object the certification of the presidential electors from Arizona and Pennsylvania.

Johnson, R-6, joined three GOP colleagues from the Ohio congressional delegation in objecting to electors: U.S. Reps. Warren Davidson Bob Gibbs and Jim Jordan.

Some members of the House of Representatives and Senate who had said they would vote to object changed their minds following the storming of the Capitol by supporters of President Trump.

Before the votes were taken, Johnson issued a statement that condemned “violent thugs” and compared them to protesters who took to the streets over the summer.

“I swore an oath to protect the Constitution and the rule of law. I take that oath seriously. Whether it was the violent thugs who fought with police and stormed the U. S. Capitol building today or the violent thugs of Antifa and BLM who’ve been assaulting police and attacking government buildings for the last six months, this lawlessness is wrong and should be universally condemned.

“We’re all Americans, and we’re better than this. I thank all the men and women of the U.S. Capitol Police and other law enforcement agencies who brought help for their service,” Johnson said.

U.S. Rep. Mike Kelly, R-Pa. 16, who represents Mercer County and northwest Pennsylvania, explained his vote in a statement that summarized the legal action he filed to nullify Pennsylvania’s mail-in votes in the Nov. 3 presidential election.

“What happened at the United States Capitol yesterday was wrong and does not reflect who we are as Americans. In this country we resolve our disputes peacefully in legislative bodies and courts under the rule of law. Thank you to the Capitol Police and all other law enforcement officers who bravely secured the Capitol and kept us safe,” Kelly said.

“Notwithstanding these events, I still objected to Pennsylvania’s slate of electors. The tragic attack on the U.S. Capitol does not change the fact that Act 77’s no excuse mail-in ballot system violates the Pennsylvania Constitution and Gov, Wolf and Secretary Boockvar disregarded the law in multiple ways leading up to the election,” he said.

A majority of House Republicans voted to object to the results. Still, the Pennsylvania challenge was defeated by a vote of 282 to 138, the Arizona challenge by 303-121.

The Senate voted 93-6 against the Arizona challenged; 92-7 to reject the Pennsylvania challenge.

Editor’s Note: This story has been corrected to remove the distance to Marietta. It is not 500 miles.

Pictured at top: Vice President Mike Pence and Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., stand after to reading the final certification of Electoral College votes cast in November’s presidential election during a joint session of Congress after working through the night, at the Capitol in Washington, Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021. Violent protesters loyal to President Donald Trump stormed the Capitol Wednesday, disrupting the process. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite, Pool)

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.