Museum Kicks Off O-H-I-O Buckeye Bobbleheads

MILWAUKEE — In time for the start of the 2020 football season, the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum this week launched an officially licensed Ohio State Buckeyes O-H-I-O bobblehead series.

The limited edition series produced for the museum by Forever Collectibles, or Foco, features Joey and Nick Bosa, Ezekiel Elliott, Woody Hayes, Michael Thomas and Brutus Buckeye in O-H-I-O poses. Elliott, Hayes and Brutus make the O with their arms, Thomas and Nick Bosa form the H and Joey Bosa the I.

Each bobblehead is individually numbered to only 2,020, and they are only available through the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum’s Online Store.

“We’re excited to release this unique Ohio State Buckeyes O-H-I-O series for fans to add to their bobblehead collection,” National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum CEO Phil Sklar said in a release.

Originally, a chant of O-H-I-O-S-T-A-T-E was done by sailors in World War II aboard the aircraft carrier USS Lexington to express their unbridled enthusiasm for the Ohio State University, according to the release. After learning the chant as a member of the Navy, Matthew Sidley joined the cheerleading squad at Ohio State and taught the cheer to fans at Ohio Stadium in 1947.

Eventually, S-T-A-T-E was dropped from the cheer, leaving the famous O-H-I-O. Today, fans can also yell “O-H!” and someone will respond, “I-O!”

Fans can submit who they want to see added to the O-H-I-O bobblehead series by clicking HERE.

Ohio State begins its 2020 football season today at noon when the Buckeyes host the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Image: National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.