Mummau, Dawson named GCC’s Man and Woman of Year

GROVE CITY, Pa. – The 2023 Grove City College Senior Man and Woman of the Year awards were presented May 3 to Clark Mummau and Janessa Dawson during the college’s annual recognition convocation.

Dawson, from Zanesville, Ohio, will graduate with a degree in biology/health and minors in exercise science and psychology. A trustee scholar, she has served the Grove City College community as a member of orientation board, mentor for the Deeply Rooted program, teaching assistant for Biology 101, captain of the Women’s Softball Team, and representative for the Student Athlete Advisory Committee. Janessa has also played intramural sports and has been actively involved in the Wolverine Broadcast Network throughout her college career.

Other nominees for the award were: Meredith Basham, Estelle Graham, Lydia Joyner, and Megan Markel.

Mummau, from Mount Joy, Pa., will graduate with a dual degree in biblical and religious studies and Christian ministries. He has served in many leadership positions, including assistant resident director, president of ODK, chaplain for the Delta Rho Sigma Housing Group, mentor with the MENtor Project, and leader of ICO Rhode Island. A talented musician, he has participated in Touring Choir, Chamber Singers, and Symphonic Orchestra. He has also been involved with college theater productions, ICO Buffalo, and The Collegian.

Other nominees for the award were: Alex Andersen, Josiah Findley, Joshua Kapusinski, and Colson Parker.

The awards are presented jointly by the leadership honoraries Mortar Board and Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) as a service to Grove City College. Selections are made based on scholarship, leadership, and service. The candidates were voted on by students and faculty.

The senior awards are the highest honors that the college can bestow on students. Their names are recorded for posterity on a memorial plaque on a boulder outside Harbison Chapel on campus. Former recipients of this prestigious honor have gone on to become leaders in faith, education, business, law, and health care.

Also recognized at the convocation were the winners of annual academic and scholarship awards. They are:

  • Senior Biology Award – Reese Trauger
  • Senior Molecular Biology Award – Claire Josey
  • Freshman Biology Achievement Award – Mia Gallagher
  • Richard A. Leo Physics Scholarship – Sam Hertzer
  • Edward & Sara Naegele Award – Emily Cress, Daniel Beevers, Daniel Mathes
  • Swezey–Janicki Scientific Research Award – Renee Wright
  • Bechtell Award – Daniel Edwards
  • Roger Clark Dawes Award – Gina I. Kim
  • Outstanding Computer Science Senior – Eli Lowry, R. Todd Pinsenschaum II
  • Philip N. Carpenter Senior Mathematics Award – Jacob Heasley, Ethan Wilson
  • Franklin C. Ketler Mathematics Prize – Courtney Middaugh
  • The J.P. Hassler Prize – Sebastian Anastasi
  • Department of Management & Marketing Outstanding Senior Award – Matthew M. Williams
  • PICPA Excellence in Accounting Award – Luke Peffer
  • Institute of Management Accountants – Luke DiPofi
  • Future Leaders in Finance Award – Owen North
  • Permelia Baldwin Shoemaker Award – Cassidy Boylan
  • Ross A. Foster Scholarship – Karis Halley
  • Lambda Epsilon Delta Award – Allayna Deaven
  • Sydney McCormick Memorial Award – Katie Leon, Tessa Carlin
  • James D. Thorne Education Award – Audrey Seymour
  • Music Education Award – Lindsay May
  • Hilda Adam Kring Award – Evalyn Summers, Hannah Young
  • Thelma Baltz Morrow – Annalese Aderholdt, Abbey McFeely, Lillian Steinhauser
  • Robert H. Sisler Memorial Award – Grace Messer
  • Jonathan B. Ladd Award – Carolyn (Cara) Scott
  • Elinor Caruthers French Prize – Estelle Graham
  • Phi Alpha Theta History Prize – Christopher Dunsworth
  • David E. McKillop Scholarship – Jacob Feiser, Jackson Romo
  • Andrew S. Korim Original Thought Scholarship – Katherine Bennett, Kaylin Boring, Ethan David
  • Frederick S. Kring Scholarship – Ari Campbell
  • BSW Senior of the Year – Abbey Durig
  • Psi Chi Senior Award – Cara Clark
  • Walter E. Page Scholarship – Biology – Etienne Pienaar
  • Bockes Award – Sarah Soltis
  • Diane Dixon Scholarship – Olivia Zook
  • James Dixon Scholarship – Whitney Leonard
  • Walter E. Page Scholarship – Physics – Brynn Graybill
  • Swezey–Janicki Scholarship – John Treusch
  • Red Fred Award in Psychology / Philosophy – Carolyn (Cara) Scott (1st place), Anna Degraaf (2nd place), Charlotte Krispin (3rd place), Evelyn Greathouse (Honorable Mention)
  • SACP (Society for Analytical Chemists Pittsburgh) Award – John Watson
  • Walter E. Page Scholarship – Chemistry – Erica Judt and Daniel Mathes
  • John T. Shaw Memorial Scholarship – Alexander Blank and Trey Zabroski
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry – Caleb Voges
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award – Emily Bauer Husovich
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Physical Chemistry Undergraduate Award – John Watson
  • Outstanding Exercise Science Senior Award – Samuel Belitz
  • Excellence in Exercise Science – Christopher James Otwell
  • Outstanding Exercise Science Service Award – Micah Sterrett
  • Olechovsky Scholarship – Annelise Vannoy, Ryan Miller
  • Kappa Delta Pi Award – Courtney Middaugh
  • David and Kathleen Cashdollar Scholarship – Katelynn “Katie” Baker

Pictured at top: Clark Mummau, Grove City College President Paul J. McNulty, and Janessa Dawson.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.