Oh Wow! Looks to Build on Success, Adds Board Members

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Oh Wow! The Roger & Gloria Jones Children’s Center for Science & Technology will complete its third strategic plan, said Mark Peters, chairman of its board of directors.

The strategic plan will aim to build on the center’s successes through targeted enhancement and strategic expansion internally and externally, as well as to institutionalize a robust infrastructure toward future sustainability, he said.

“It is important that OH WOW! continues to be a resource for the children in our community and our children’s grandchildren,” Peters said.

Oh Wow recently recognized the work of board members and announced the addition of four new board members. Among those recognized was Merry Gubany Wagner, who served in a variety of capacities for eight years on the board of directors, most recently as a member of the executive committee.

“Merry Wagner was a founding member of Oh Wow, and in that capacity, was instrumental in helping us complete the transformation that our community sees today,” Peters said. “The volunteer work of our governing board of directors has been and will continue to be critically important to the success of Oh Wow’s mission.”

New board members include Heidi Daniel, executive director of the Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County; Chuck George, majority shareholder and CEO of HAPCO, Inc. Triptech LLC; Rev. Dr. Lewis Macklin II, senior pastor at Holy Trinity Missionary Baptist Church; and Cheryl McArthur, director of human resources and operations with the Mahoning County Educational Service Center.

Pictured are board members (from left, back row) Nils Johnson, Fred Alexander, Carmela Minnie, Mark Peters, Ellie Platt, Heidi Daniel, Yvonne Lipinsky and Merry Wagner (past board chair); (from left, middle row) Ron Faniro, Bruce Sherman, Steve Giangiordano, Joe Nohra, Chrissy Papa, Charles George, and Rev. Lewis Macklin; (from left, front row) Shanna Chasebi, Suzanne Barbati (president and executive director) and Cheryl McArthur.  Not pictured are board members Julie Downie, Gregg Sturrus and Frank Rulli.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.