Ohio First State to Activate NEVI-funded EV Chargers

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio’s first electric vehicle chargers funded through the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure program is now online, making the state the first in the nation to activate a NEVI charger.

The new NEVI charging station is located at the Pilot Travel Center along Interstate 70 at U.S. Route 42 in Madison County, west of Columbus. The station is equipped with fast chargers installed by EVgo that are capable of providing up to 350 kW when charging a single vehicle. 

When four vehicles are charging simultaneously, each port will receive up to 175 kW, which is enough power to charge an EV up to 80% in 20 to 40 minutes, depending on the vehicle’s battery, a news release states.

“Any industry that focuses on innovations for the future is a priority for Ohio,” Gov. Mike DeWine said. “Electric vehicles are the future of transportation, and we want drivers in Ohio to have access to this technology today.”

Construction is expected to begin soon on two dozen fast-charging stations funded by NEVI across the state. All chargers installed as part of the first round are anticipated to be operational by the end of 2024.

Ohio will receive $140 million in NEVI funds over five years to support the installation of EV charging stations across the state. While the first round focused on interstates, future rounds will fill in infrastructure gaps along major U.S. and state routes. ODOT is accepting proposals for the next round of funding through 1 p.m. Jan. 25, 2024.

More information about submitting a proposal is available HERE.

Pictured at top: The Pilot Travel Center along Interstate 70 at U.S. Route 42. (ODOT)

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.