Schiavoni Re-elected Ohio Senate Minority Leader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The nine Democrats in the Ohio Senate unanimously re-elected Joe Schiavoni, D-32 Boardman, minority leader Tuesday.

They also elected Charleta B. Tavares of Columbus assistant minority leader, Edna Brown of Toledo their whip and Cecil Thomas of Cincinnati as assistant whip.

“I am grateful that my colleagues have given me the opportunity to continue serving as the leader of our Caucus,” Schiavoni said in a prepared statement. “We have a strong team with a wealth of experience in state and local government. We are committed to standing up for working families and making sure all voices are heard at the Statehouse.”

Schiavoni, Tavares and Brown have served in their respective posts since 2013. Thomas, elected in November 2014, is new to the leadership team.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.