3 Mahoning County Credit Unions Merge with Cardinal

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Three credit unions in Mahoning County– Edison Financial Credit Union, Tri-County Credit Union and Youngstown Ohio City Employees Credit Union – have merged with Mentor-based Cardinal Community Credit Union, the company has announced.

Following the merger, Cardinal now has nine locations in Ashtabula, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Mahoning, Portage and Summit counties serving roughly 30,000 members. The credit union’s combined assets total more than $239 million.

“We are immensely pleased to call the Youngstown area home,” said Cardinal President and CEO Christine Blake in a release. “The regional expertise of the three merger partners will help us deliver a new standard of excellence in financial service to the people of Youngstown.”

The three absorbed credit unions will offer “expanded services, enhanced products, greater access and state-of-the-art technologies that rival any bank,” she added.

Cardinal Community Credit Union will dedicate its Edison branch, 6000 Mahoning Ave. Suite 210 in Austintown, with a ceremony Sept. 27.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.