Valley Architects Provide Leadership in State Organization

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Principal architects from two local firms have taken on leadership roles within the state organization for architects and design professionals.  

John Orsini, a principal with BSHM Architects in Youngstown, was elected to serve as the president of AIA Ohio, a chapter of the American Institute of Architects that serves more than 2,200 members from across the state.   

As president, Orsini oversees the organization’s advocacy, continuing education awards and professional awareness and advancement programs. He previously served on the AIA Ohio Board of Directors and is a past board member and president of AIA Youngstown.  

Bruce Sekanick, a principal at Phillips Sekanick Architects in Warren, serves as president of the AIA Ohio Foundation, which provides scholarships and grants focused on advancing the profession.  

The foundation provides scholarships to each of Ohio’s five accredited architectural programs, supports the AIA student chapters at each of the programs and provides grants to improve architecture awareness and education. 

Sekanick is a member of the AIA Ohio Board of Directors and has served as president of AIA Ohio and AIA Youngstown. He has also served as a member of the AIA National Board of Directors and served two years as the AIA national secretary.

The AIA has nearly 100,000 members in its U.S. and international chapters.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.