YSU Foundation Announces New Trustees and Officers

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — The Youngstown State University Foundation this week appointed Frank Hierro chairman of its board of trustees and named three new board members: Sergul Erzurum, John Moliterno and Elba Navarro. 
Hierro, whose experience spans over 40 years in the banking industry, is a YSU business and finance graduate, and the Mahoning Valley regional president of Premier Bank (formerly Home Savings). His tenure on the YSU Foundation Board began in 2001. He follows Rick Schiraldi, formerly of Cohen and Company.

“Rick displayed many strong leadership skills while chair of the board the last two years, and his transparency and inclusion resulted in a very active board and governance process,” Hierro says.
Erzurum, an ophthalmologist and partner in Eye Care Associates, joins the board with roots in the nonprofit sector and higher education. In 2016, Erzurum co-founded and is president of Sight for all United, a 501 (c) 3 whose mission is to help all members of the community see, regardless of their ability to pay. Erzurum received her graduate education from Northeast Ohio Medical University, where she is a full professor of surgery. She graduated from YSU in the six-year BS/MD program. 
Moliterno is the executive director of the Western Reserve Port Authority. He earned a B.A. in psychology at The Ohio State University. Moliterno is a past president of the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber. His community involvement includes the Youngstown State University Penguin Club, and serving on the boards of the Youngstown Symphony and the Better Business Bureau of the Mahoning Valley.  
Local philanthropist and educator Elba Navarro graduated from YSU, earning B.S. and master’s degrees in Spanish, reading, and education. She retired from Youngstown City Schools, where she taught at Chaney High School and Roosevelt Elementary. Navarro and her husband, Shorty, fund numerous scholarships for YSU students through the YSU Foundation 

In addition to chairman Hierro, the 2020-2022 foundation officers are Ed Muransky, vice chair; Mary Beth Houser, secretary; Pete Asimakopoulos, treasurer; Nader Atway, assistant secretary; Doug Sweeney, assistant treasurer.

The YSU Foundatioh, established in 1966, is the nonprofit philanthropic entity of YSU. In the upcoming 2020-2021 academic year, the foundation will provide a record $9.9 million in scholarship and program support for YSU students.

SOURCE: YSU Foundation

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.