YSU Foundation Names 4 to Board of Trustees

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The Youngstown State University Foundation this week announced the appointment of four new trustees to its board of trustees, with two-year terms that began on May 23rd.

Germaine Bennett, Capri Cafaro, Dr. Chander Kohli, and Dr. Kathleen Padgitt are the new trustees.
The foundation also announced that former vice-chair Ed Muransky is the newly appointed chairman of the board, having served as vice-chair for the past two years.

Bennett graduated from Central Missouri State University in Warrensburg, Missouri, with a BS in science in elementary education. She received her master’s in counseling from Youngstown State University and her educational specialist degree in elementary administration from Kent State University. She is retired and serves on various community boards.

Cafaro is a former Ohio state senator who held the position for nine years. She earned her BA in American studies from Stanford University in 1997, and two master’s degrees from Georgetown University and the Ohio State University. She previously served on the YSU board of trustees, and currently serves as a board member for the Girard Multi-Generational Center and the Ohio Association of Free Clinics.

Kohli is a physician who specializes in neurosurgery. He has practiced at St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital, St. Joseph Hospital, and Sharon Regional Hospital among others. He is also an active member of the Youngstown community, including being a founding member of the India Association of Greater Youngstown. He was served on the YSU and NEOMED boards.

Padgitt is a nephrologist at The Kidney Group Inc. She attended YSU for her BS in medicine and attended NEOMED for medical school. She’s on the board for the NEOMED Foundation, and formerly served on the board for the Mahoning County American Heart Association.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.