YSU Poli Sci Group Honored Nationally for Fifth Straight Year

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — For the fifth consecutive year, the Youngstown State University chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, has received the national Best Chapter Award.

The award is given to 16 of the society’s 700 national chapters, said Adam Fuller, YSU associate professor of political science. It includes a $500 prize.

“It is a strong recognition of how great our students are that we stand out in this way,” he said.

For the past two years, Moataz Abdelrasoul was president of the YSU chapter. During that time, the group co-sponsored film screenings, held weekly LSAT review sessions, hosted guest speakers on campus and held an all-day political trivia game at the Canfield Fair in the YSU tent, Fuller said.

Abdelrasoul is now a student at Cornell Law School. The current president is Kassandra Seabolt. Other immediate past presidents include Jillian Smith, Greta Frost and Marissa Snyder.

After a long hiatus, the chapter was rebooted in 2015, Fuller said. That year, it was recognized for “Pete for Paris,” an event that raised money for the victims of the terrorist bombing in Paris.

“The chapter has been committed to service work ever since,” he said.

The group also held a “Pete for Texas” fundraiser for the victims of Hurricane Harvey, as well as a “Pete for New Zealand” fundraiser for the victims of the mosque attack in New Zealand.

Source: YSU News

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.