YSU Teams Make Moot Court Nationals for 11th Straight Year

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Four members of the Youngstown State University moot court team will compete in a national tournament next month after winning two regional contests. The appearance in the national competition marks the 11th straight year YSU has appeared.

Samantha Fritz and Jacob Tomory won the Midwest Regional Moot Court Tournament while Michael Factor and Moataz Abdelrasoul, who will make their second appearance in the national contest, won the Cleveland Marshall Regional Moot Court Tournament. The two teams beat groups from University of Chicago, University of Virginia, Duke University, Michigan State University and Loyola of Chicago.

“The pre-law program provides the environment and education that has fostered similar student success stories for more than 10 years,” said Paul Sracic, professor and chairman of the politics and international relations program at YSU and the Rigelhaupt Pre-Law Center, in a statement.“The strong performance by these students is evidence of the elite caliber of the pre-law program at YSU under the direction of attorney Ron Slipski.”

Factor, Fritz and Tomory are graduates of Canfield High School, while Abdelrasoul is from Brookfield High School.

The American Moot Court Association is the country’s largest organization of its kind, educating students on the country’s legal system. In contests, participations argue hypothetical constitutional cases in simulated appellate court settings.

Pictured: Jacob Tomroy, Samantha Fritz, Michael Factor and Moataz Abdelrasoul will represent YSU at the American Moot Court Association’s national championship next month.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.