2024 Athena Award Nominees Announced

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The 25 nominees for the 2024 Athena Award, presented by the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber and The Vindicator, were announced Wednesday.

The Athena Award program celebrates the accomplishments of outstanding professional women in the Mahoning Valley.

This year’s nominees are:

  • Lynne Azar, guardianship manager, Jewish Family & Community Services.
  • Sherri Bercheni, vice president, remote delivery experience, 717 Credit Union.
  • Sarah Brown-Clark, Mahoning County clerk of courts (retired).
  • Jenna Byler, director of communications, Millwood Inc.
  • Melissa Capple, chief operating officer, United Network Alliance.
  • Deanna Clement, partner, McConnell Marketing.
  • Michelle Crawford, chief financial officer, Mercy Health Youngstown.
  • Gina DeGenova, Mahoning County prosecuting attorney, Mahoning County Prosecutor’s Office.
  • Stacia Erdos, regional development executive of Trumbull, Mahoning and Jefferson counties, Coleman Health Services.
  • Jennifer Frank, professor, criminal justice consumer services, Bitonte College of Health and Human Services, Youngstown State University.
  • Shari Harrell, president (retired), Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley.
  • Megan Hughes, director of operations, Discover Global/DuraTerrain.
  • Tiffany Hurlbut, chief executive officer, Aaris Therapy Group.
  • Carson Lisko, partner, McConnell Marketing.
  • Dr. Kassandra Kornbau, medical director, Natura Behavioral Health.
  • Traci Manning, curator of education, Mahoning Valley Historical Society.
  • Lois Martin-Uscianowski, director and founder, Southside Community Garden.
  • Ashley Morrow, human resources/payroll/grants/safety, Livi Steel Inc.
  • Ky Pegues, vice president, community development officer, Premier Bank.
  • Gina Peplow, employer and community engagement professional, Jobs for Ohio’s Graduates.
  • Dr. Nicolette Powe, associate professor of public health/public health scientist, Department of Graduate Studies in Health & Rehabilitation Sciences, Youngstown State University.
  • Rachael Rankin, head principal, Newton Falls Junior High and High School.
  • Marisa Sergi, chief executive officer, L’uva Bella Winery.
  • Patricia Summers, founder, president and chief executive officer, Youngstown Blue Coats.
  • Abbie Twyford Wilson, director of student activities, Eastern Gateway Community College.

The award recipient, along with all nominees, will be honored at the 31st annual Athena Award Dinner on May 16 at Waypoint 4180 in Canfield. A cocktail reception will take place at 5 p.m., and the program and dinner will start at 6:15 p.m. The cost is $100 per person. Register HERE.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.