2024 Mental Health and Recovery Award Winners Honored

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – In recognition of Mental Health Month, the Mahoning County Mental Health and Recovery Board honored this year’s Mental Health and Recovery Award winners at its annual Recognition Luncheon on Friday at the Tyler History Center.

The honorees were nominated by residents and leaders of Mahoning County for their service to the county’s system of care. 

The 2024 award recipients are:

  • Adult Advocate of the Year: Jennifer Varley Gray, Compass Family and Community Services.
  • Child Advocate of the Year: Natalie E. Spencer Scott, Choffin Career & Technical Center.
  • Advocate of the Year: Paige Rota, Meridian Health.
  • Pillar Award (Support Staff): Beth Siwula, Mercy Health – Youngstown.
  • Front Line Staff of the Year: Emily Lockard, Community Support Network.
  • Leader of the Year: Joseph Rossi, Direction Home of Northeast Ohio.
  • Program of the Year 1: Alta Care Group Mobile Response and Stabilization Service, Alta Care Group.
  • Program of the Year 2: Stand Grow Thrive: Mahoning Resiliency Movement, Mahoning County Juvenile Court.
  • CIT Officer of the Year: Deputy Lucas Ring, Mahoning County Sheriff’s Department.
  • Eagle Award: Judge Carla Baldwin, Youngstown Municipal Court.

“On behalf of the board and our staff, I am so pleased to recognize this year’s group of outstanding winners,” said Duane Piccirilli, executive director of the Mahoning County Mental Health and Recovery Board. “This list represents our heroes among all the champions working tirelessly throughout our mental health and recovery system, representing so many diverse organizations.”

Pictured at top: Natalie E. Spencer Scott, Paige Rota, Brian Kohuth, Kristine Wolford, Mimi Kim-Vass, Jennifer Varley Gray, Dr. Sarah E. Macovitz, Karen Guerrieri-Marr, Beth Siwula, Emily Lockard and Judge Carla Baldwin.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.