5 Area Girls Basketball Players Named to All-State Lists

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Several area Division III and IV girls basketball players were named to the All-Ohio teams announced March 29 by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

McDonald High School’s Molly Howard and South Range High School’s Izzy Lamparty received first-team honors in Divisions IV and III.

Howard averaged 20 points per game and led McDonald to the Division IV state championship game, while Lamparty averaged 20.2 for South Range, which advanced to a Division III regional final appearance.

Western Reserve High School’s Danielle Vuletich received second-team honors in Division IV. She paced Western Reserve to a Division IV regional semifinal contest, averaging 24 points per game.

In Division III, Champion High School’s Emma Gumont and Crestview High School’s Krista Perry received special mention. Gumont averaged 13 points per game, while Perry averaged 15.4.

The Division III honorable mention players are: Sophia Hook, Brookfield High School, 19.1 points per game; Alexis Giles, South Range, 13; Joclyn Fristik, East Palestine High School, 15.7; and Grace Witmer, Columbiana High School, 20. 

The Division IV honorable mention players are: Emma Whaley, Sebring McKinley High School, 19 points per game; Marissa Ventura, Maplewood High School, 16.2; Belle Zirzow, Bristol High School, 19.8; and Sophia Costantino, McDonald High School, 15.5. 

The Division III Player of the Year was Berlin Hiland High School’s Zoe Miller, while Warrensville Heights’ Ourtney Bryant was tabbed Coach of the Year. 

In Division IV, Xenia Legacy Christian’s Emma Hess was named Division IV Player of the Year, while Waterford’s Jerry Close was tabbed Coach of the Year.

The Division I and II All-Ohio teams will be announced March 30, followed by the Ohio Ms. Basketball Award on March 31. 

The boys basketball All-Ohio teams will be announced starting April 5.

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association was created in 1972 to support, promote and recognize coverage of high school sports across Ohio and is endorsed by the Ohio High School Athletic Association. OPSWA members are invited to assist with selecting the all-district teams, with those award winners eligible for All-Ohio consideration.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.