8 Receive 2023 Mental Health and Recovery Awards

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The Mahoning County Mental Health and Recovery Board honored this year’s Mental Health and Recovery Award winners at its annual Recognition Luncheon on Friday at the Tyler History Center.

This year’s honorees were nominated by Mahoning County residents for their outstanding service to the county’s system of care. 

“On behalf of the board and our staff, I am so pleased to recognize this list of outstanding winners,” said Duane Piccirilli, executive director of the Mahoning County Mental Health and Recovery Board. “This list represents our heroes among all the champions working tirelessly throughout our mental health and recovery system.”

The 2023 award recipients are:

  • Advocate of the Year: Adam Lonardo, Broadway Recovery Services.
  • CIT Officer of the Year: Deputy Candy Dykes, Mahoning County Sheriff’s Office.
  • Eagle Award: Bob Smrek and the Teddy Foltz Memorial Bike Run Committee.
  • Front Line Staff of the Year: Douglas Hansen Jr., Community Support Network.
  • Front Line Staff of the Year: Michelle Mixon, Catholic Charities Regional Agency.
  • Leader of the Year Award: Theresa Gaetano, chief investigator, Mahoning County Coroner’s Office.
  • Program of the Year Award: Mahoning County Probate Court Fresh Start Court, Judge Robert N. Rusu Jr.
  • Support Staff of the Year: Lauren Cash, Compass Family & Community Services.

Pictured at top: From left are Theresa Gaetano, Candy Dykes, Douglas Hansen Jr., Adam Lonardo, Judge Robert N, Rusu Jr., Michelle Mixon, Carla Smrek (accepting for Bob Smrek) and Lauren Cash.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.