Beatitude House Presents Scholarship Awards

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Beatitude House Ursuline Sisters Scholars presented three new scholarships, and Youngstown State University’s awarded five last-dollar scholarships to students in the College of Health of Human Services at the nonprofits Scholars Holiday Luncheon Tuesday.

The Ursuline Sisters Scholars program serves 34 college students. Aimed at breaking the cycle of poverty through post-secondary education, the program provides financial support and mentorship, as well as assistance for basic needs like food, clothing and transportation.

“We at Beatitude House are so excited to be able to provide three much-needed and well-deserved scholarships for next semester,” said Grace Freeze, Ursuline Sisters Scholars program director, in a release. “These students have all endured various challenges, serving as a model for perseverance and a strong work ethic. We look forward to seeing these and all our scholars graduate and move on to meaningful professions in the future.”

The three scholarships awards were: $1,000 from the Comerford Fund for Scholars, Jonathan Thomas, studying paralegal at Eastern Gateway Community College; $1,000 for the Mary Grace Fund for Scholars, Luz Castillo, studying nursing at Mercy College of Ohio; and $500 from the Ursuline Sisters Fund for Scholars, Cierra Pruitt-Eiland, studying psychology at Kent State University at Trumbull.

The YSU students receiving last-dollar scholarships from the university are Sarah Hammett, Rayana McGuire, Kaelyn Snyder, Keivunia Wallace and Desiray Hamption.

For information on how to donate, become a mentor or apply to the Ursuline Sisters Scholars program, visit

Pictured: Sister Mary McMcormick, general superior of Ursuline Sisters of Youngstown; scholarship awardee Luz Castillo; Ursuline Ministries President M. Brigid Kennedy; scholarship awardee Cierra Pruit-Eiland; awardee Jonathan Thomas and Beatitude House Board President D. Joseph Fleming.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.