Diane Sauer Named NADA Dealer of Year Finalist

WARREN, Ohio – Diane Sauer, owner and operator of Diane Sauer Chevrolet in Warren, was named one of the four finalists for the Time Dealer of the Year award April 1 at the National Automobile Dealers Association Convention & Exposition in Las Vegas.

“The retail automobile business has given me the opportunity to be of service to others,” Sauer said in a release. “When our customers need assistance and my staff is courteous, prompt and efficient, customers are grateful.”

Sauer began working in the car business after graduating from Ohio State University in 1975 as an accounting clerk at Martin Chevrolet in Warren, moving up to office manager in 1977 and general manager in 1983. In 1994, she purchased the dealership.

In addition to her work at the dealership, Sauer is a member of the Trumbull 100, Children’s Rehabilitation Center of Warren, Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley and Rotary Club of Warren, among other organizations and foundations. She also works with Kent State University at Trumbull’s The Road Not Taken program, working with high school female sophomores.

The other three finalists are Kitty Van Bortel of Van Bortel Motorcar in Victor, N.Y., who was named was named Dealer of the Year at the expo; Kevin Reilly of Alexandria Hyundai in Alexandria, Va.; and Phil Meador of Phil Meador Toyota in Pocatello, Idaho.

Stephen Chos, retired vice president of the Automobile Dealers Association of Eastern Ohio, nominated Sauer for the award. Only 50 dealers out of 16,000 across the country are nominated for the award.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.