League of Women Voters to Mark 90th Year at Induction Ceremony

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The League of Women Voters of Greater Youngstown will celebrate its 90th anniversary and its seventh Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony March 30. 

The Women’s Hall of Fame honors outstanding women in the greater Youngstown area who have made contributions of local importance and enduring value. Four women will be inducted during the ceremony at 5:30 p.m. at the Jewish Community Center of Youngstown, 505 Gypsy Lane.

This year’s honorees are Suzanne Barbati, recently retired from her role as founding director of Oh Wow! The Roger & Gloria Jones Children’s Center for Science & Technology; Bonnie Deutsch Burdman, director of community relations and government affairs at the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation; V. Anne Harpman, a retired special education teacher at Youngstown City Schools; Dr. Lashale Pugh, assistant executive director and research and evaluation director of the Northeast Ohio Black Health Coalition; Roxann Sebest, vice president of the United Way of Youngstown and the Mahoning Valley; Vicki Vicars, director of mission, equity and resilience at the Ursuline Sisters Mission and director of advancement at Thrive Mahoning Valley; and Sarah Grinstein Wilschek, executive director of Ohev Beth Sholom.

Dr. Amy Acton, who served as director of the Ohio Department of Health during the COVID-19 pandemic, will receive the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of her statewide and national service and impact. She is currently the president and CEO of RAPID 5 in Columbus.

Tickets for the ceremony are $45 and can be purchased in advance HERE until March 23. Tickets can also be purchased at the door for $55.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.