Nominees Announced for 2019 Valley Legacy Awards

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — Shepherd of the Valley announced the nominees to be recognized at the 15th annual Valley Legacy Awards at noon Wednesday.

The annual event honors civic-minded seniors and senior advocates for their contributions to the Mahoning Valley. There are 17 nominees this year.

The Valley Legacy Awards will be presented to winners in each of three categories: Community Achievement, Professional Excellence and Senior Advocate.

The nominees include:

Outstanding Senior Award for Community Achievement

  • Keith E. Bowser, Warren
  • Cheryl Butler, Youngstown
  • Leo H. Connelly, Jr., Youngstown
  • Kenneth J. David, Girard
  • Denise M. Deltondo, McDonald
  • Minister Barry Jenkins, Boardman
  • Richard R. Lytle, Warren
  • Patricia McLean, Warren
  • Trudie Rose-McCoy, North Jackson
  • Sue Ann Taylor, Youngstown

Outstanding Senior Award for Professional Excellence

  • Joyce Brooks, Canfield
  • Judge Lou D’Apolito, Boardman
  • Kathi Halbert, Poland
  • Gary P. Lees, Masury

Outstanding Senior Advocate

  • Shirley Millerleile, Girard
  • Moses Murphy, Poland
  • Kim Sheldone, Hillsville, Pa.

In addition, the Cliff and Lillie Johnson Award for Timeless Service to the Community will be presented in memory of Charles W. Darling of Youngstown, a former professor at Youngstown State University who died in 2018.

The event will be held Oct. 9 at noon at The Maronite Center, 1555 S. Meridian Road.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.