OHSAA Reveals New Football Region Assignments

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio High School Athletic Association has unveiled its new football region assignments for the upcoming season.

The top 16 teams from each region from Divisions I through VII advance to the postseason beginning October 29-30. The 10-week regular season starts the week of August 16.

The OHSAA doubled the number of the teams eligible for postseason play from eight to 16 in each region, expanding the field to 448 teams, up from the previous 224.

Columbiana, Mahoning and Trumbull County teams are represented in Divisions II through VII. The tri-county region has three teams in Division II, while Division VII sports the most with 12. A complete list and regional maps of the state’s seven divisions can be found HERE.

Starting Thursday, all sports have no restrictions on the  number of days in July on which they can conduct voluntary conditioning, strength training and instructional opportunities. Helmets may be worn during football summer sessions.

In addition, there is a five-day acclimatization period for all football players in July prior to the first day of practice on August 1.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.