Regional Chamber Opens Nominations for Athena Award

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber and The Vindicator are seeking nominations for the 2018 Athena Award.

The Athena Award is presented annually to recognize area business and professional women. The recipient, along with all nominees, will be honored at the 26th annual Athena Award dinner May 17 at Mr. Anthony’s Banquet Center in Boardman.

Nominations must be submitted by March 2. Nominees are not required to be a member of the chamber or to be employed by a chamber member firm. Candidates may self-nominate, and past Athena nominees are eligible.

Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Business and professional achievements: Demonstrates significant, measurable achievements that have produced exceptional organizational impact.
  • Community service: Provides valuable leadership service to the community.
  • Support for professional women: Exhibits support for and involvement in the goals of professional women.

Past Athena recipients include: Patricia Sweeney, Kathy Cook, Genie Aubel, Holly Welch, Dr. Laura Meeks, Karen Abrams, Marty Bushey, Shawna L’Italien, Patricia Brozik, Karen Cohen, Molly Seals, Dr. Sheryl Figliano, Sr. Patricia McNicholas, Dr. Cynthia Anderson, Eugenia Atkinson, Dr. Gwendolyn Hughes, Lynn Cavalier, Dee Crawford, Diane Sauer, Nancy Jastatt-Juergens, Carolyn Anderson, Helen Paes, Marie Izzo Cartwright, Trudy Bayman and Elaine Wilson.

A PDF form for the nomination is available through the Athena Award Program pages found under the Initiatives/Programs tab at the Regional Chamber’s website.

The completed PDF forms may be submitted via email to or returned via conventional mail. For more information, contact Kim Calvert, vice president of marketing and events, at 330 744 2131, ext. 1235.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.