Sharon Robotics Team Receives Top Award at Tournament

SHARON, Pa. – Sharon Tiger Techs Team Orange recently earned the Finalist Champion’s Award after several days of competition at the Razorback Invitational at the University of Arkansas.

Competing against 80 of the best robotics teams in the world, the Sharon team received the highest award given at the event for a team that embodies the FIRST Lego League Challenge experience, fully embracing the Core Values while achieving excellence and innovation in robot performance, robot design and the innovation project.

The Sharon team also received a fourth-place Robot Alliance Award through its partnership with the MVLA Rockets, a team from New Mexico, and placed ninth in robot performance.

This season’s theme was Super Powered, and the Sharon team designed, built and programmed an EV3 LEGO Mindstorm Robot capable of completing tasks on a playing field for 2.5 minutes. 

Henry Nowinski and Jasper Stanisky, members of Sharon Tiger Techs Team Orange, launch the robot during the competition at the University of Arkansas.

Additionally, the team brainstormed an innovative project solution, the Park ’n Charge, designed to solve a lack of convenient chargers for electric vehicles. The Park ’n Charge is a high speed wireless charger located in commercial areas, so customers can shop, dine and enjoy the time while their cars recharge. The team enlisted guest speakers, multiple trips and received feedback from several area businesses and organizations while applying for and receiving a patent for its innovative solution.

The team of nine students from grades four through eight qualified for the Razorback Invitational while competing at the Northwest PA Championships at Penn State Behrend in Erie in January. At that competition, the Sharon team earned second place in both the Champion’s Award and Robot Performance Award categories.

The Sharon robotics teams are sponsored by the Sharon City School District. More information about the teams can be found HERE.

Pictured at top: From left are coach Kelly Roys, Sophie Nespor, Camille Klaric, Olivia Totin, Tony Gaggini, Alex Stephenson, Matthew Schimp, Henry Nowinski, coach Dave Tomko, Ian Connelly and Jasper Stanisky.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.