2024 MVYP 25 Under 35 Winners

Stay and Grow: Valley’s Rising Stars Commit to Their Community at 25 Under 35 Awards

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio — The Mahoning Valley Young Professionals gathered at Stambaugh Auditorium on Thursday night to honor the area’s most promising young leaders at the annual 25 Under 35 Awards.

The event, now in its 15th year, celebrated the achievements of young professionals who have shown outstanding commitment to their careers and to improving their community. The theme of the night, touched on by all who spoke, was “stay.” Stay and use your talents here in the Valley.

“We want to retain talent, but we also want to grow,” said Nicholas DiNello, a sales representative with Stryker and one of three MVP award winners.

“We want to grow the great state of Youngstown into something special.”

In 2013, DiNello and two friends founded One Time for the Kids, a nonprofit that raises money for underprivileged children. Their most recent Christmas benefit, a mock wedding reception, was attended by more than 550 people.

Joining DiNello as the year’s MVPs were Paige Genova, founder of Vital Pelvic Health & Wellness, and Kaneesha Tensley of the Boardman Police Department.

Genova, during her acceptance speech, expressed her dedication to the region. “I’m proud to be from this area. I’m proud to give back to this area and I’m proud to bring world-class care to our area,” she said.

Tensley shared similar sentiments, noting her lifelong connection to the community. “It’s such a great honor to serve this community. Mahoning County has been here for me my entire life. To say that I am shocked and honored is such an understatement,” Tensley remarked.

Ohio state Sen. Michael Rulli delivered the keynote address, encouraging the nominees to continue their efforts in shaping the future of the Valley. 

“The 25 of you that are nominated have an opportunity to change [the Valley] forever,” Rulli stated. “Now it’s time for the 25 of you to use that beauty and that magic, and one day your name will be on the street signs. And stay here,” he added.

Justin Metzel, vice president of the Mahoning Valley Young Professionals, spoke about the organization’s contributions to the community, made through its endowment, the Young Philanthropist Fund. “To date, we have contributed over $60,000 back into the community,” Metzel reported.

In addition to the three MVPs, the event recognized 22 other outstanding young professionals who have significantly contributed to their fields and the community. The complete list of honorees includes:

  • Ashlyn Symone Baker, Signatures by Symone Brand Design Studio.
  • Thomas D. Crew, Premier Bank.
  • Shannon Flynn, Flynn Auto Group.
  • Thomas Sumit Kovoor, Anayaa Investment Group, Bloom Wealth.
  • Anthony Marchionda, Burgan Real Estate.
  • Joan Stebelton, Brouse McDowell, LPA.
  • Tyler Wolfe, Winner Aviation.
  • Dr. Benjamin Brocker, Mercy Health.
  • Amelia D’Angelo Gavolas, Platt Insurance Group.
  • Nicole Furrie, Furrie Vitullo Sparkle Markets.
  • Marvin Logan Jr., Oh Wow! The Roger and Gloria Jones Children’s Center for Science & Technology.
  • Moriah McCorkle, AVI Food Systems.
  • John Stoops, Cohen & Co.
  • Sydney Canty, 21 WFMJ-TV News.
  • Shea MacMillan, Platz Realty Group.
  • Michael Mock, Premier Bank.
  • Danielle Covelli, Covelli Enterprises.
  • Tra’Von Eley, Tra’s Gourmet Sandwiches.
  • O’Keal Gist, Go Mortgage/Nationwide Mortgage Bankers.
  • Melissa Maiorano, Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber.
  • Levi Smith, Youngstown State University.
  • ShoMoré Wright, Ohio Secretary of State.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.