Tom Holden Memorial Scholarship Winner Announced

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – The WKBN 27 Caring for Our Community campaign on Thursday announced the winner of the Tom Holden Memorial Scholarship contest.

More than 222 students from Mahoning, Trumbull, Columbiana and Mercer counties wrote commercials for local nonprofit organizations.

Peyton Smith, a senior at LaBrae High School, was chosen as the winner for her entry featuring Lifebanc. She will receive a $1,500 college scholarship, and her winning script will be produced by WKBN. It will be aired throughout the summer on WKBN-TV 27 and FOX Youngstown.

Smith and five runners-up will each be featured in commercials airing on WKBN throughout May and June. The runners-up and the nonprofits featured in their entries are:

  • Second place: Jennifer Johnson, senior at LaBrae High School; Students Motivated by the Arts.
  • Third place: Lauren Aiello, senior at Sharpsville Area High School; Pink Lights the Way.
  • Fourth place: Nora Kurth, junior at Boardman High School; Animal Charity of Ohio.
  • Fifth place: Talan Ramsey, senior at Trumbull Career & Technical Center, The Bair Foundation.
  • Sixth place: Michael Daley, junior at Poland Seminary High School; Help Network of Northeast Ohio.

Pictured at top: Dave Coy, general manager of WKBN-TV 27, and Peyton Smith.

Published by The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.