YSU to Honor Bowers, Schroeder with Heritage Awards

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio – Youngstown State University will present professors Bege Bowers and Lauren Schroeder with its highest faculty honor – the Heritage Award – at the annual Faculty and Staff Showcase May 2.

Bowers worked at Youngstown State from 1984 to 2012. Among her positions were associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, assistant provost, associate provost for academic programs and planning, and interim provost and vice president for academics.

She also served on the university’s strategic planning committee, was YSU’s liaison to the Higher Learning Commission and was involved in the Ohio Board of Regents’ program approval process.

A specialist in ecology, Schroeder was a member of the biological sciences department at YSU from 1968 to 1996. Prior to that, he assistant to the director of the National Science Foundation and research assistant to the U.S. Antarctic Research Program in 1967.

He received several National Science Foundation grants for research in resource control and evolutionary tendencies and was instrumental in organizing YSU’s first Earth Day observance. During his time at Youngstown State, he often took lab students into the field to supplement lectures. Among the trips were ones to collect aquatic samples from Lake Glacier, Lake Erie and local strip mine ponds.

At the dinner, YSU will also present its annual Distinguished Professor Awards for faculty and Distinguished Service Awards for staff.

Copyright 2024 The Business Journal, Youngstown, Ohio.